Minnesota passes ‘hands-free’ law.
'Hands free' law
On August 1, 2019, Minnesota will join 16 other states and the District of Columbia requiring motorists to put down their phonesas part of an effort to reduce deaths and accidents caused by distracted drivers.
Existing Minnesota law already prohibits motorists from texting, emailing and web browsing while driving on the roadway. The new law essentially makes it illegal for a phone to be in a driver’s hand while the vehicle is moving.
However, the new law will not prohibit drivers from manually dialing a phone number, typing addresses into a navigation app, or scrolling through names on a list of contacts provided the vehicle is pulled safely out of traffic and parked on the side of the road.
The new law will impose a $50.00 fine on first-time violators and a $275.00fine for subsequent offenses.
According to Minnesota Department of Public Safety data, at least 27 of Minnesota’s approximately 380 traffic deaths in 2018 were related to distractions of all kinds.
If you find yourself facing distracted driving, DWI, or OWI charges and need to explore your options for getting your driving privileges restored, our seasoned lawyers can help. Attorneys are available 24-7 — Call us at 612-334-3342.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime