Are You Concerned About The Potential Penalties For A First DWI In Minnesota?
Gain A Greater Understanding Of The Laws On Drinking And Driving In MN
Understanding the laws on drinking and driving in MN can be quite difficult. After all, the laws are changing on a regular basis in order to address new legal issues as they arise.
In addition, there are many complicated legal actions that an experienced attorney can take in order to have the charges against his or her client reduced or even eliminated completely. Hiring an experienced lawyer who is knowledgeable about the laws on drinking and driving in MN is essential if you hope to avoid penalties. Even if it is your first offense, you may be surprised to learn that the penalties for a first DWI in Minnesota can be quite harsh.
Although the average person isn't going to become an expert on the laws on drinking and driving in MN, it is still in your best interest to gain a basic understanding of these laws and the penalties you may face. For example, if you are convicted of a DWI, you may face an administrative license plate impoundment. This may occur if…
- You had a previous impaired driving violation within the past 10 years
- You had an alcohol concentration of .16 or more
- You had a child below the age of 16 in the car with you
- Your license had previously been cancelled
According to the laws on drinking and driving in MN, the arresting officer can issue a plate impoundment order at the time of your arrest -- and this order is effective immediately. You will then be provided with a temporary vehicle permit that is valid for 7 days, or for 45 days if you were not the owner of the vehicle. The plates will then be impounded for at least one year, during which time you will not be permitted to drive any vehicle unless it contains plates displaying a special code.
You must meet certain criteria, however, in order to qualify for a coded plate. These include…
- You have a properly licensed driver to drive on your behalf
- A member of your household has a valid license
- You have received a new license
- You were not the owner of the vehicle and the owner is validly licensed
Whether you are facing your first DWI offense or your third, it is in your best interest to hire a competent attorney who is knowledgeable about the laws on drinking and driving in MN. This way, you will have the best chance of keeping your penalties to a minimum.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime