Are You Facing A 2nd Degree DWI In MN? Know What You Are Facing!
There Is A Difference Between A Minnesota 3rd Degree DWI Or A 1st Or 2nd Degree Charge
Facing DWI charges in Minnesota can be a frightening experience. Potential jail time or fines could be the penalty assessed against you. This is particularly true if you are charged with a 1st or 2nd degree DWI in MN -- though a Minnesota 3rd degree DWI can potentially have dramatic consequences as well.
If you are convicted of a Minnesota 3rd degree DWI, which is what you will be charged with if your case involves one aggravating factor, you could be facing one or both of the following penalties:
- Up to a $3,000 fine
- Up to one year in jail
If you are convicted of a 2nd degree DWI in MN, which is what you will be charged with if your case involves two aggravating factors, the potential penalties remain the same.
Once you move up to a 1st degree DWI conviction, however, the potential penalties become much more severe. With a first degree DWI, which is what you will be charged with if your case involves three aggravating factors, the penalties you might face include:
- Up to a $14,000 fine
- Up to seven years in jail
When determining whether you will be charged with a 1st degree or 2nd degree DWI in MN -- or if you could be facing a Minnesota 3rd degree DWI -- separate incidents involving any kind of motor vehicle will be considered. This includes, but is not limited to incidents involving:
- Passenger motor vehicle
- Head Start bus
- Commercial motor vehicle
- All-Terrain vehicle
- Off-road recreational vehicle
Since the severity of your penalties increases with the degree of the charges, it is important to work with an attorney who will do everything possible to get the charges reduced, or possibly even dropped. After all, if your attorney can get 1st degree charges reduced to a 2nd degree DWI in MN, or possibly even a Minnesota 3rd degree DWI, you could be looking at a savings of approximately $11,000 and six years in jail, if maximum penalties are levied.
Of course, there are other potential penalties you might face if you are convicted of a 1st or 2nd degree DWI in MN, or a Minnesota 3rd degree DWI. For example, you might have your licensed revoked, your car confiscated, or even your license plates revoked. You might also see your insurance rates go up considerably and you may experience difficulty finding a job, so make sure you hire an experienced attorney to represent your case to ensure the best possible defense.
Douglas V. Hazelton has been practicing Twin Cities, Minnesota DUI law for many years. The focus of his practice is criminal law, with alcohol-related offenses --- such as a Twin Cities DUI arrest --- being his prime area of concentration. Hazelton has lectured to national audiences regarding DWI related topics and has published numerous articles on the subject.
Don’t risk your driving freedom! Get the assistance of a DUI / DWI attorney experienced in the Minnesota DUI law. Hire an attorney who will get the job done right by calling Doug V. Hazelton at 1-612-334-3342.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime